Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

The Eagle has landed

I'm safely in Bangalore. All went smoothly with my travel. Bangalore is in the states of Karnataka, around 500 miles north more or less on the same latitude as Chennai. Its a lot cooler, so they tell me, as it is higher up! I'm not convinced.
I don't know when I was last on a propeller plane, although some of the Edinburgh Southampton flights with flybe had them I think. Thutukudi or Tuticorin Airport where I set out from, is tiny. There are 4 flights a day in and the same number out, which is four times as many as when I first used it. The recent introduction of flights to Bangalore was a godsend for me. Sadly though, the airport ground staff no longer line up outside the terminal and salute as the plane goes down the runway.
The lower part of the collage is a large statue of Hanuman on the road to the airport. There is a temple there and the statue can be seen for miles. If you are interested and want to Google it, the statue is at Deivaseyalpuram.
Bangalore has grown so much in the last 15-20 years and the traffic increased with it. This afternoon it took over an hour and a half by taxi to travel the 35 km from the airport to Whitefield where I am staying.
Good to see Sham and family, the new baby is gorgeous, just 3 weeks old.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.