antipodean

By antipodean

Birthday cake

At last, the much talked about cupcakes are revealed! And, of course, some lovely ladies are displaying them nicely for me - the birthday girl is in the middle with her special blue cake.

Today was cake decorating day - I had three colours and so had to make three batches of coloured butter cream icing. Dad was on icing duty in that he spread the icing on the cakes while I decorated with jelly beans, smarties, mini m&ms, rainbow drops and little silver cachous. I think the last time I bought that many bags of lollies from the supermarket I was about 11! I actually enjoyed the decorating more than the baking because I got to be all creative, and they looked so nice together so I finally felt like I'd done a good job!

In all my baking I almost forgot I actually had to get to the party, but get there I did! I went early with the cakes and helped Amita set up, and then as people arrived jumped on photography duty. The cupcakes went down really well and I'm so pleased with them, and so pleased Amita liked them! The party was really great and I think everyone was having a super awesome time. I headed off fairly early but the party was still going strong so hopefully they boogied into the night!

I knew that for today's blip I wanted Amita and a cupcake - Steph and Julia are a wonderful bonus, and this way I get to show off all three colours! I love this photo, the girls look great and the cupcakes look yum. I'm really proud of myself and really happy that last night went well, because if anyone deserves a rocking 21st it's Amita!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.