Winner winner chicken dinner

I remembered The Jumblie's poem word for word last night because of something really significant that happened to me 50 years ago.  

I was one of many children that 'won' a Blue Peter limerick competition.  My limerick was published, I got a Blue Peter competition winners badge and a signed copy of Edward Lear's Nonsense Poetry.  The little book in which my limerick was published cost 20p.

I was nearly 8 and I've gone on to love reading, and books, and think I am quite good at writing.  In more recent years I put my heart and soul into the Linton Children's Book Festival. I think these early encouragements really matter & it may not be too bold to say it can be life changing…

When I got back last night I dug out my most precious Blue Peter books and the extra shows the significant pages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.