Rakia

Today I went out for the run I had planned earlier the week. However, linking the big central parks of Sofia was more attractive in theory, than practice. It was hard work after Tuesday's run, and a week of smog, beer, meat, and second hand cigarette smoke! But the first two and the last of the 11 km were OK, and 55 minutes wasn't so shabby. Back at the apartment I was shattered, and И messaged me to say that she was also exhausted, so we decided that it was a day to chill. I did a bit of easy  work, and followed the rugby, before heading out in the evening.

I met up with И and her parents at "Raketa Rakia", a restaurant with the local rakia spirit as a theme, in a building that was important in communist times. Indeed, И's parents got married there. We were also joined by friend E - the one who spurned us last night. The food was similar in style to what I've been eating all week, but the preparation was up at least a notch. I had pork cheeks with leeks (see extra), and also tried the prepared sheep's head: traditional eastern-European winter fare. The classic winter shopska salad (of tomatoes, cucumber and and a grated "sirene" cheese that's a harder version of feta) is so much part of the place that I don't know what came first, the salad, or the colours of the national flag! As well as a  beer, this was washed down with two glasses of apricot rakia, and one made from cherries, leaving just 98 more varieties of rakia to taste from the menu! Although the others were chatting in Bulgarian most of the time, И's parents both speak enough English to talk to me occasionally, И maintained a commentary, and E also speaks fluent English, so I still felt part of the company. A great evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.