Non-negotiable

Our eldest son has done an amazing job today of clearing out stuff that we have been storing for him in our spare room for years. With his partner’s help he has also been up to the loft and brought a lot more items down, so now we are left with separate piles for the charity shop, the tip and for re-purposing. They will also be taking some stuff back to Winchester with them in the car tomorrow. They’ve done far more than we anticipated or dared hope for, and it’s a great feeling.

There are still lots of his books left here, which we will happily keep until he finally settles into a new home. Some things are non-negotiable and books definitely fall into that category for him … and also for me, it has to be said. And in my case, the contents of my craft room also fall into the non-negotiable category. Most of the items displayed on this shelf hold sentimental value for me because they were gifts from all sorts of lovely family members and friends and bring back happy memories every time I look at them. I know I wouldn't find it easy to part with those.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.