Early blackthorn

Our afternoon walk took us across the Green for the first time for a few days, and we were amazed to see the difference since we were there last; it was looking so spring-like that it was hard to believe it’s still only the end of February.

There was a bush covered in pussy willow catkins close to this blackthorn, and there were silver birch catkins not far away as well, with Queen Anne’s lace plants coming up in abundance underfoot. The flowering cherry in our front garden now has plenty of pink blossom dotted along its branches too, although it’s not normally fully out until well into March. 

It’s interesting how the beauty of Spring surprises me every single year. I know very well that I love the season of Spring, but every year when the miracle of new growth happens, and buds and blossom appear, I marvel all over again at the joy and the hope that it brings to my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.