Celebrating Cath at 90

Cath is leaving us to go and live closer to her daughter in Scotland.  She's not sure she's doing the right thing.  She's lived in the village for a long time - if I've been here 25 years, then she's been here at least that long and she also grew up about 6 miles from here.  Se's been on her own now for quite a few years and I guess the lock-down time brought home her loneliness, especially after her next door neighbour moved away.  

I know her from the book group which  folded not long after Ann died and certainly wouldn't have survived after lock-down.  She relaxed a bit more after I put the camera down and we had a lovely reminisce about her life and family.  I left feeling a bit guilty and thinking that I hadn't lived up to my original intention to keep in touch.  Ann wold have done I'm sure.  It brought home to me how much I rely on the internet to keep me in touch with the world out there and how lonely a place this could be without it.  They are having a goodbye event for her at the Chapel this morning, but just for once I won't be around as it is the AGM for the Yorkshire Photographic federation - it usually takes place on a Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.