earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Father and Daughter

In the absence of Roam (in Latvia) and Forrest (in London), I was invited on a little road trip out to Kettlewell to help introduce the ex-father-in-law to the delights of the Yorkshire Dales, topped off with lunch at the Bluebell Inn. He looked very dapper. If he kept his mouth shut, he'd have passed for the perfect English gentleman. I should clarify that by saying that his American accent is very distinguished and distinctive!

It's hard to believe that Jim is going to be 88 this year. He's a great advertisement for the virtues of keeping physically and mentally active. His drive has barely diminished at all over the years. He's currently at work on his third novel and has just published his second self-help book. He's a wonder and an inspiration.

In an effort to impress, I got dropped off at the Strid Tearooms for a 9 mile run back to Ilkley along the Dales Way. The sun came out (before it rained for the last couple of miles) and I'd genuinely forgotten what a beautiful route this is when the paths are in the perfect condition they are right now. Because I live so close to the moor I rarely choose to run up and down the valley.

I was a bit creaky on arrival back in Ilkley. I fear I only ended up endorsing Jim's regard of his ex-son-in-law as quite mad. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.