The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Wisteria graces our wilderness

The garden has gone completely wild this year. Dandelions have turned to seed, and the grass is so long that we're going to have to borrow a strimmer to give its first cut! I hung out the washing, and cleared the table, which had turned into a potting station, then lay down in the grass to try and photograph Bomble among the dandelion clocks.

The light was low, and the flash kept firing despite my having thought I'd turned it off, so he wandered away and I tried my super macro mode on the wisteria which grows on the cabin. It's grown outwards, and is heading towards the raspberries (see, we did have a garden, once!) at an alarming rate. I think I'm going to have to spend a few hours every afternoon getting to grips with the growth, both in the front and the back garden. If CleanSteve and I work together, we should be able to achieve something.

My grandmother had a Forestry/Council house with a large garden and a sloping bank at the back that led steeply down to a burn. We have roughly the same size and style of house and garden, even with the same slope and burn. BUT my grandmother was a terrrific gardener. I am not. More of a labourer in the garden. I don't seem to have the feeling for plants that I have for, say, cats, or children with special needs. I wouldn't say my mother has, either, and it was her mother that was the great gardener! I don't think it can be forced.

In any case, the sun is shining now and it's hot, even in the cabin. Bomble is sitting beside me on the sofa. having a wash, and I'm listening to an audiobook. Quite soon I'll have to start the supper, because we are going to the town of Nailsworth this evening to hear our friend Pip singing with the Gasworks Singers from Bristol. But first, just another half an hour in the sunshine with my feline friend...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.