More twists to the Canadian winter

Having, rather optimistically, scheduled my first ever bone density scan for 7.50am, I was rather disheartened to find that the accuracy of the meteorologists remained high and the first 5 or 6 of the expected 15cm had already fallen. This is snow I am talking about, a rather predictible and utterly depressing (in February at least) feature of the Canadian winter. 

I mean, it is frigging endless. 

I improved my mood a lot by taking off my glasses to scrape off the snow and accumulated ice from the windscreen. For safe keeping, I had placed my glasses on the car seat. Naturally, I sat on them when I got back into the car. For a couple of seconds, I sat gazing at a clear (if somewhat blurry) windscreen, wondering whether I had developed a case of rather rapid-onset piles. I hadn't. It was the arm of my glasses sticking into my buttock. It could have been worse. I could have had a very difficult conversation with the nurse at the General Hospital charged with removing them. 
"Nothing goes up there by accident, Mr. Ottawacker." 
"But, but, but..."

I got out quickly and found my glasses had miraculously not disintegrated: the lenses had, however, popped out. I ran in and spent a panic-stricken five minutes looking for an old pair. When I came back out to the car, I had to clear the windscreen again. This I did with my glasses on.

Fortunately everything else went smoothly. Even the traffic was well behaved, with people respecting distances and travelling slowly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.