Carlisle Cathedral

This is a fabulous building.  A religious building has been on this site since 1122 and received cathedral status by Henry 1 in 1133.  I decided to walk around Carlisle today, but spent my time in and around this cathedral.. The last time I was inside was when our two children graduated from the University of Cumbria and that was a few years ago.  However, I wanted to look at the ceiling which I thought is spectacular.  There is a lot to see.  The craftmanship in stone and wood is excellent.  I was greeted by a guide and asked him if I could take photos.  There wasn't a problem and pleased that I wanted to take photographs.  I thought I might have to lie on my back to photo the ceiling, but a mirror was placed to show the ceiling in its splendour.
The extras show the East Window which still retains medieval glass; the ceiling and a 'carpet' of spring flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.