Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

APPLE A LA FRANCAIS

dear Blippers

As part of my art course, our tutor appointed one of my fellow students (French guy) to be tutor until 11th March. He is wonderfully creative and great fun. So we have til 11th March to come up with a visual construct of the word APPLE. And as usual I put it on the long finger. It’s called procrastination:-)

But he dropped a minor challenge on us this afternoon. At 5pm (strictly) and for 2 minutes, we had to come up with 25 words associated with APPLE. This is a wonderful exercise in lateral thinking. Not allowed to google, phone a friend, etc … you get the idea. You havta actually pull the ideas out of your brain.

My blip is the 25 associations I have with the word Apple. Please excuse my scrawl, but you have to write quickly when the ideas tumble out and you only have 2 mins. And I just about managed it.

And this is what I submitted.

But afterwards when I googled stuff, I remembered Apple Records by the Beatles. So you see, if you want to be an artist, you seriously must engage in lateral thinking and you must also allow your brain to stretch that muscle.

The first lateral thinking exercise I did in an art class was many years ago and I was given the word DOOR and my brain froze. I produced 7 words in 2 mins. Clearly the brain muscle was not engaged

Anyhoo, maybe blippers might like to try this critical thinking exercise. It’s actually fun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.