Again at wrong time hunting auroras....

After grey and cloudy day I went out to have some walk in the evening - and to my absolutely happiness I realized clear skies. Whuhuuuu!!!  This time had I known that there was a strong magnetic storm coming. And I really saw strong auroras above our home. It was almost 8pm. Marvellous!!!!

Back in, and after I had jumped into my clothes like a whirpool and had taken my camera and tripod and asked hubby to come with me, we drove to the lakeside - and saw only some faint auroras. We decided to drive further to a darker place - only to realize that the northern lights had dissappeared. 

For an hour or more we waited and waited, but then left after 9.30pm. So we did not see the next strong northern lights show at 11.00pm.

The passengers of the Finnair plane had better luck as the pilot flew off course to show passengers Northern Lights. 

You maybe read my blip yesterday? Today happened alternative point 4 and 5. As hubby was driving to the darker place, I could Google the setups on our way. So I could avoid alternetive point 6, but forgot the focus to manual... 

A lot people watching skies. I wonder how cold all the tourists were... some not even having a beanie.

This is a hard task, if you live in city. Sorry about the blip. I should maybe move into a home with view to north...

Warm night -1c with wind. 

Backblipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.