Joe Tree Day

This is my neighbour Pam's tree.  It is a Liquid Amber.  Pam and Fred built the first house in the street in 1986.  Perhaps the tree was planted soon after.  In an urban setting it needs to be trimmed every other year by a tree surgeon.  That is an expensive business and so it grows ever taller.  Then there are the leaves.  Pam used to sweep those up but then teenager Amy across the access way took over the job.  The three houses opposite now find the tree blocks their view of the estuary and Nelson.  Pam is fond of the tree and doesn't want it felled.  At the moment Pam is in respite care so the tree grows ever taller.  My only regret is that I never asked her to sit on the red seat and let me take a photo.  
I have been blipping for seven years and can't imagine my life without it.  Of course I have learnt about photography by participating here but it is the connection with people from around the world that keeps me here.  Blip is an amazing legacy for Joe Tree.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.