Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Awwwwwwww!

This definitely qualifies for one of my Little Moments. This was snapped in under 5 seconds this morning, with my iPhone inserted in the top of the nest box while mom sat a few feet away, anxiously watching my every more. The minute I stepped away, she was back on the nest keeping the babies warm. These are blacked-capped chickadee fledglings, about 4 days old. I got my first peek at them right before I left for NYC on Thursday and estimate that they had hatched the day prior. They've already grown quite a bit, although they aren't much bigger than the pad of my pinkie finger at the moment. It looks like 5 of the 7 eggs in the nest hatched, which is good actually.

Mom and dad appear to be taking good care of them. I saw dad hauling a "poop sack" out a little while ago. Chickadees (like many birds) take the fecal sacs that the chicks deposit and carry them far away from the nest before dropping them. This helps to keep the location of the nest secret from predators. To help nature out, I also have a predator guard on the pole that the nest box is mounted on - this keeps raccoons, squirrels and snakes (like yesterday's little garter snake) away from both eggs and nestlings. I will probably try to get another shot of the babies in a few day. I will monitor the box for about another week, then won't open it again until they've fledged, which should be in about 2 weeks.

In other news today, I saw my first Great Crested Flycatcher of the season today - they are beautiful birds and it was a thrill to see it. The wrens have started another nest in the second wren box in the yard - be interesting to see which , if either, they settle in. The boxes are both full of twigs and the male is singing from both of them.

So, the funniest moment of the weekend...Last night, hubs and I were watching TV downstairs and decided around 9 to head upstairs. I went to open the door to collect the feeders from the deck and as I started to put one foot outside, I realized I wasn't alone! I let out a shriek and jumped back inside, while hubs came running from the other room. The raccoon (yep, my own personal nemesis) clung to the deck rail, with one furry paw in the feeder and he just looked at me. The nerve! Hubs ran and got a flashlight and the lid of a trashcan (I don't know what he was thinking either) and charged out on the deck with lights and noise. I should mention that some of the noise was from banging on the trash can lid while some of it sounded an awful lot like screaming...) The raccoon took flight. With hubs standing guard, I got the suet and bird feeders safely inside. And I will tell you that it took both of us at least an hour to settle down!

A quick note on yesterday's snake - this is a small, common and non-venemous snake that is welcome in many gardens because it will eat insects and garden pests. That said, I have the same kind of relationship with snakes as I do with spiders - an uneasy truce. I'm fascinated and also fearful. But at no time was I in any danger - other than possibly a fright-induced heart attack!

Thanks for sending the slithery gal to the spotlight - that was fun!

xxoo
Debbi (and the chickadee kids)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.