Don't be too tidy!

I like the concept of not being too tidy for the sake of wildlife. But I was tidying a little bit! 

What I was actually doing was moving some of the dead stalks and leaves from the native wildflowers I planted onto a patch of ground behind a shrub so that the hedge we planted a year ago doesn't get overcrowded until it's established. (It did say not to plant anything in between for three years - but I couldn't resist!) 

I thoughts I'd gathered a bright green bud but realised it was too sizeable and luminous.  I looked again.

And then I looked it up.  So, I think it's an angle shades moth caterpillar and I'm pleased it's another nature find in the fairly young stages of our hedge. She's safely tucked back inside the base foliage of the same plant I found her in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.