New View

We woke at the usual time for work and, after some breakfast, both made our ways to different rooms to spend the day working. This is the first time we have worked remotely from our Isle of Wight flat and it all went quite smoothly. I have a new view and am using a thermal tea cup that I never used in London. My actual working day was very quiet but I made some edits to the documentation that have been working on. I always think that the number of words written don’t really equate to the amount of time spent (that applies to this diary too). 

In the afternoon I worked on a my iOS Shortcuts to parse the daily tide times and get Siri to tell me when the  high tides will be. I have a version I wrote a few weeks ago but as I have understood more about the way the codes worked I realised it wasn’t doing what I wanted. I am only interested in high tides and but my original code would, quite often, report back the low tides instead. So, I rewrote the whole thing which is both much more complex and a little more logical and it seems to do what I want. I know that it’s not real coding but I do find it quite enjoyable solving the problems and trying to write the parsing codes.  I do get frustrated that the Apple Shortcut documentation isn’t very helpful but thankfully r/shortcuts tuned out to be quite helpful.

About 6:30pm we wandered up to the Co-op to grab something we could try in the air fryer. We have decided that our New Year dinner is to be steak and chips. We want to use the fryer for the chips but thought we ought to try it out before relying on it for our new year dinner.  So we got oven chips, peas and a fish cake (which we decided to try to fry instead of in the air fryer). 

When we got back we waited with some nibbles before cooking but the dinner turned out really well and the air fryer is working as expected. It has been the best decision to get it and some pans on this trip because we can do much better dinners that don’t rely on the microwave.  Admittedly, we now have no work surfaces.

We spent the evening watching My Policeman on Amazon Prime.  It was a bit slow but Harry Styles was good in it but I thought the slowness and the ending - which I didn’t find very satisfactory - was a bit disappointing. While we were on Amazon Prime we were reminded that we had started, but never finished, the first season of Hacks and so we watched a couple of episodes to get back into it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.