Thirsty Thursday

Tonight, being the last Thursday of the month, was another of Corelia’s Thirsty Thursdays. It’s been a slow start getting these things up and running. I was running a bit late but when I arrive I was surprised to see that MK was stood have a drink. It was really good to see him again. And it’s always nice to get a ‘you haven’t changed’ comment from somebody you haven’t see for close to ten years. We had a great catch-up and it’s good to hear how he’s doing and that he’s moved to The Humble (with a flat nearer town for when he is working). Everybody’s off to the coast.

Given he was my boss, directly and indirectly, for about ten years of my working life it got me thing about all the bosses I have had.  It’s hard to pick out who was the best because they have al been so different.  I really only appreciated some of my bosses after I had left the organisation, some just took a little getting used to and required some careful relationship building. Some were lovely people but didn’t really care about the product we were working on and some taught me a lot but were also wanted to tick management boxes by being more focussed on my career that I am.  

Of all of them, MK was an all-rounder. He could push when needed but was also empowering; he cared about people and the product and he also wanted everybody to enjoy it along the way. I think it’s probably very difficult to be that balance consistently.  It was great to see him and the current incarnation of the ‘smoking jumper’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.