World book day

No prizes for guessing who Nathaniel is this year. He suggested it himself and used Ella’s old coat and trunkie plus his Indiana Jones hat.

It’s been another gloomy day. Chris called to give me a note for our next trip. It’s worth 10p!

I was at art Appreciation in the afternoon. Vivienne is a guide at Alnwick Castle and gave a very interesting presentation on Sebastiano del Piombo. None of us had heard of him but he is highly thought of and was a contemporary of Michaelangelo. He was innovative in that he was the first Venetian to use oil paint. I liked best his Judith with the general’s head. Not the head so much but, Judith herself who was painted as a formidable woman. Vivienne has offered to give us a private guided tour of the Duke’s art but it costs £19.50 to get in. It might be worth Mr C and me joining Historic Houses for £52 a couple as there are a few places we could visit that I’d be interested in seeing. Then I’d not be fuming at giving the Duke my money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.