The Bake Off Musical!

Today I went up to London to meet a friend for a delicious lunch at Dishoom and then we went to see the new musical ‘ The Great British Bake-off.’  It was very lighthearted and quite fun but the cast were mixed in ability and singing voices. Some parts of the set and script were very good but there were other bits we didn’t get or thought rather laboured. The musicians were very good throughout.  I went because a friend had seen a preview at the Cheltenham Festival and so I booked tickets ages ago. Our seats were very good value in the first circle ( which interestingly is at street level in the Noel Coward Theatre.) the people next to us who had only booked today paid double! Most of the audience were of a certain age and very more appreciative with their clapping than my friend and I! The star of the show for us was the chap who played Paul Hollywood…he was so like him to looks at, his voice and mannerisms too,  except for being much taller! 

Covent Garden seemed very busy with tourists today despite it being so cold . It was a nice sunny day though and the sunset as I came home on the train was lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.