Spring onions

In our house I do the shopping, Mr Pandammonium puts it away and Mr Perkins gets underfoot.

One time, I left Mr Pandammonium unsupervised during the great putting-away of the shopping – normally I stick around.

I’d bought some daffodils because they’re happy flowers, and I like them; by the time I got home, I’d forgotten all about them. A day or two later, I found them in the fruit and veg drawer in the fridge.

Mr Pandammonium said he’d thought they were spring onions. I’ve teased him about it ever since.

However, it seems he’s not the only one.

Here’s my top tip for telling the difference between daffodils and spring onions: read the label. If the label says ‘spring onions’, garnish a spicy rice dish with them; if it says ‘daffodils’, put them in a vase.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.