Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Super disruption

The view from Buzz here is looking West from his hover point over Fort Scratchley.  You are looking down at Foreshore park and a lot of those buildings and bollards lining the roads are not normally there.  Yes, it's Supercars racing coming up in a week. 

Time for a minor rant so skip ahead now....

The bump in bump out time is 9 weeks.  There is a lot of construction so I guess it takes that long but for 9 weeks I can't really take Maggy to the harbour dog beach as it is too difficult to get to and I generally stay away from that end of town.  We are told by the Council that it is good for Newy to have the race here and the benefits outweigh the disruption caused by the event.  Businesses in the area (just what I have been told and read) report major downturns in trade for which there is no compensation.  There are many however who love having the race here and see it as a positive.  Perhaps they don't live in the LGA or maybe they just love the race.   I don't have enough information and it is unlikely that the public would ever be told just what the true expense is, who pays for what and who receives what (who being Council, Visit NSW and Supercars).  I have completed a survey which asks questions as to what Novacastrians think about the race and whether the Council should sign up for another 5 years - I wonder if it is a done deal though.   Enough of a rant.

So I have put a multi image pan up in the extra which show about a 200 degree view from Newy baths and canoe pool through to Nobbys.   A record of the progress of the Newy baths and the set up for the race.  I will do it again in about another 5 to 6 weeks when it has all be dismantled.  And if you are interested in the race course, the second extra has the track marked.  Well sort of, you'll get the drift.

I wish you all a happy weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.