RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Newly plastered hole

This is the window I used to sit at in the dining room looking out over the now-vanished patio then the garden. The ex-dining room is an embryonic utility room and the new extension (I am standing in the kitchen bit of it to take this picture looking towards the front of the house) is the full width of the house. I asked the builders not to brick in the old window. Partly I want echoes of the house as it was to remain and partly I thought I could fill this with stained or patterned glass to take light into a room with no natural light. 

I'll consider the detail after I've moved back in and have a better sense of the spaces but it'll be a long while yet. A kitchen is a higher priority and I won't have one of those for at least my first three months back in the house. Camping gas stove and microwave, here we come again!

(In the utility room you can see the boxing around a bit of the ventilation system that should have been built into the partition wall but wasn't because of a miscommunication between the MVHR designer and the architect about the duct-diameter.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.