Sebulon

By sebrose

Backups

Today were started work on The Cucumber for Java Book 2e. All the code examples from the first edition are in the publisher’s SVN source control system, but I know I wrote them using git…. but I can’t find the git repositories.

I did the work on an old MacBook that ceased to function a year ago December. So, I search Dropbox, Google Drive, GitHub, BitBucket to no avail. And then I remember I used to use an external hard drive to backup to.

I find the drive, but no power supply. I search through my hardware bucket looking for a connector that fits. The only one that does has a variable voltage output, but the hard drive casing has no level of the input required. I check the web, set the output, and plug it all in. No explosions, but no function either.

The screwdriver comes out and I extract the hard drive from the casing. I grab my USB/SATA kit from the shelf and plug it into the mains. Hey presto! The drive is still functional. And the data is there.

I mirror the repositories to GitHub and share them with my co-author. Job’s a good ‘un.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.