Sun city

Woke up to a slightly frosty morning - but more sunshine. Mrs M was going into Glasgow to meet her sister, so I took myself off to Maryhill, a less than salubrious part of the city, but home to Maryhill Locks on the Forth & Clyde canal. I walked a mile or so along the canal to see the new bridge, linking two communities which previously had a longer route through a tunnel if they wanted to pick a fight!

An amazing bridge, only opened a few months ago, though already suffering from graffiti! A lot of rubbish along the canal and around the new bridge on the far side. Some people just don't deserve these new facilities!

Walked the mile or so back to the car and drove to the Botanic Gardens. The place was mobbed, and there was a Book Fair on, so I did buy a couple of books! Had a look round the glasshouses, but gave up on the Kibble Palace, that huge circular glasshouse, as they had a row of drums and were inviting kids to play them! I hot-footed it out of there before I was deafened!

Unfortunately many parts of the west end are being dug up for broadband cables, so a ten minute drive back to Mrs M's brother's house took 35 minutes! I should have left the car behind!

By this time it was clouding over, but it was a good day out, leaving me with sore legs and 125 photographs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.