todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Let them play

You won’t see them unless you are able to zoom, but beneath the magnificent Lyle Hill, where I took this picture, lies the Battery Park. Sitting in Cardwell Bay, overlooking the River Clyde.

This morning around 10.30, it was teaming with a few hundred kids playing football. A real sight for sore eyes. They looked like ants from my vantage point. But the wind brought their roar my way and they sounded like gladiators. Teeny, tiny gladiators, learning how wonderful team, competitive sport is. I know this from experience, having being sporty, competitive and active my whole life. I learned how to win, how to lose, how to laugh, cry and make friends. I learned respect, determination, heartache and pure joy

If they are lucky, they’ll do this dance every weekend for most of their lives. And will learn how to be good adults in the process.

As the Scottish Football Association says - #letthemplay ❤️⚽️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.