pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Allotment Morning

Jon and I had planned last week to have Saturday morning at the allotment. We didn't get up early but we managed to get down there just after 10. We had the trailer with the wood burner and a bit of the hedge trimmings. Jon got the burner going and managed to burn a pile of rubbish, then we dug over one new narrow bed ready for the runner beans. We now have 3 good turned over beds, and my potatoes at home are chitting well, so the medium bed is ready for them now, and I will put them in when it warms up a bit.

Jon had taken everything he needed to boil a kettle for coffee, and had even brought his proper coffee, a cafetiere for one and a nescafe cappuccino for me. Plus coffee biscuits in little sachets! We put up the sun umbrella and sat under neath it, as the weather was drizzly, and listened to radio 2.

We finished off just before 1pm. I moved some fruit bushes, which have just been in the wrong place. Jon sorted out the compost bin and we have plans to make that area more sturdy. This year I am determined to grow more....probably not turnips though! Lol. Of course Bessie was with us the whole time. It felt like a productive morning.

Got back and Mollie had bought French stick for lunch, then we focused on cleaning and tidying the house. It looked very much like we had got back from a holiday and dumped everything in the lounge out of the caravan....which is exactly what we had done. All looking a lot better by 3pm, Jon and I went in to Cromer for a wander. We went straight to The Rocket cafe for tea (me) coffee (Jon) overlooking the sea. The rain came down quite heavily while we were in there but it was lovely to be in the warm, whilst watching the wild waves crashing onto the beach.

Walked back through the high street, I bought 3 new bras and two packs of knickers in the M &Co sale. I feel sad we are losing this shop but I did get some bargains. The underwear should have been £80 and I paid £35.

A bit more tidying when we got back, while the kids made pizza for dinner. Now we are catching up on 'Vera'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.