madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Spring

It was lovely in the sunshine today - but when a cloud obscured the sun it was chilly! 
Everywhere is turning yellow - Catkins, Daffodils, Lesser Celandines and the dreaded Dandelions! Plus a splash of blue from periwinkles and purple from one solitary Violet! I also saw a Red admiral and several  Bumble bees! The Magnolias are also in bud. I'm hoping the ice and frost doesn't reach Cornwall as spring is definitly in residence! 
Today I continued the clearance of weeds and brambles on my allotment and did the never ending digging out of couch grass in the beds. The new woman next to me has already given up her plan not to use carpet or black sheeting on her plot. Her green manure crop didn't come to much but the couch grass was thriving! I'm hoping she will  dig out the grass as its the only way to get rid of it! I did tell her to replant the 2 gooseberry bushes she had planted - they were far too close together! She is my age and I presumed she had some experience, but she does have lots of enthusiasm! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.