Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Heaven is a Place on Earth

Today's blast from the past!
https://youtu.be/j2F4INQFjEI

I slept well last night in spite of the unbelievably noisy AC and fan and fridge in my room. In fact I've started turning the fridge off over night. It's only got my bottle of water in it so nothing is going to come up any harm. The fan is off too by the time I'm going to sleep so I've really only the noisy AC to contend with, which is why I travel with several pairs of earplugs! I recently discovered that wax ones are wonderful!
I surprised my self, and the restaurant staff by turning up for breakfast just after 8 this morning. I'd told them last night that I probably wouldn't be there so not to phone me and ask.
There was the usual morning performance from the fisherman by the shore to watch as they brought in lay nights catch.
I headed straight for the sea after breakfast, it tends to be calmer in the mornings so as long as the fishermen are not using the whole beach it's a good time to swim. I love swimming amongst little fishes and there were several small shoals around. I know not to worry about piranha as they are South American river fish!!!, but the odd puffer fish is washed up, so one wants to stay away from them!
After a dip in the sea(before 9am!) I spent a couple of hours by the pool dipping into the water when lying in the sunbed became too hot. I spend most of my day in the sun hidden away under the sun umbrella!
For lunch, I went round to the Lonely Planet restaurant as it is away from the sun beside a pool where I thought I could watch some birds. It didn't disappoint. I was there for around an hour and saw many kites and eagles, drongos, bee eaters in abundance, pied kingfishers, lesser cormorants, sunbirds, Indian robins, two woodpeckers and not to mention various types of crows. My pictures were from too far away although I'll put a collage in the extras. I also saw not one but two mongoose (s?, geese? what is the plural?) there were definitely two as they both appear in the picture lol.
The main blip today is one of the delightfully named guest houses along the main seafront walkway. My mind raced down several tangents when I saw its name - Stairway to Heaven was a close contender for a song!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.