Prep

Because someone made a stupid decision, I have to walk for miles tomorrow.

I’ve packed my bag in readiness.


At parkrun this morning, I abandoned my finish tokens post not to run parkrun, but to walk it: the bloke who’s normally the funnel manager and I were the parkwalkers.

The parkwalker role is designed to show people who are daunted by running 5k that it’s ok to walk parkrun. Parkrun is something of a misnomer nowadays, but it’s probably too late to change the name now, and it would be a mouthful if every way of traversing the 5k were included.

I often dogsit lovely Luna while her daddy does parkrun and I give out finish tokens. There is only one thing she wants while her daddy does parkrun: her daddy back. There is only one thing that will fully distract her from this want: sweeties.

She walked round with me today, till her daddy finished, which was well timed because we were on a part of the course approaching the area of milling about afterwards. I’d only had to give her a few sweeties to take her mind off her daddy and other interesting things on the way round.

Before parkrun started, the other parkwalker admitted that he knew what to do with doggy doo-doo – ‘I know how it works’ – so I volunteered him for the role. He seemed unimpressed, but a friend reminded him of his own words. In his face! :D

We liked parkwalking, so we’ve decided to do it once a month. Also, you get a credit for volunteering and a credit for taking part. Win–win!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.