Sleeping Tree

It looks so peaceful, eyelids gently closed, and that soft nose...

This is one of the ancient trees at the top of the hill, in the hedgerow along the edge of the wood. There are sheep in the field now, so I wasn't sure how easy it would be to continue my plan for a series of photos of the trees; there is a public right of way through the field, but while the sheep are there I feel I should probably stay on the footpath and not disturb them. They are quite placid though, and were grazing at the other side, so I enjoyed trying a few more details of their gnarled roots and trunks, as well as some wider views, one of which is the extra. These attempts to process in monochrome are reminding me of my new year resolution to treat myself to some decent editing software and learn to use it well.

I didn't post a tree on Wednesday for Joe Tree Day, as it was J's birthday, and all I know about Joe Tree is that he founded Blip, but the sleeping tree is a belated thank you to him, with gratitude for this friendly, mutually supportive online space where I can peep into other people's lives, environments and joys and share something of mine, as well as being inspired by the many beautiful and skilful photos which make me want to try harder. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.