photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 138 of 365 - Swanswell Gate!

Welcome to day 138 of 365 (Finished image after Editing)

The original photo was taken this afternoon in the city centre area of Coventry. The image is of Swanswell Gate. This gate also known previously as Priory Gate is One of the Two remaining Town Wall gates that survive from the original Twelve city gates. Swanswell (or Priory) gate was completed in 1440. It was built to give access to the Prior's lands outside the city walls. Most of the town wall and gates were demolished in 1662 after the English Civil War of the 1640's by the orders of King Charles II. This was in revenge for the support Coventry gave to the Parliamentarians during the Civil War against the Royalists. Also in the image is a small part of the Town Wall. This is leading uphill towards Cook Street Gate, the only other remaining gate.

The Gate is classed as both a Scheduled Ancient Monument and a Grade I listed building. The Gate is number 14 on my list of 19 (Grade I) Listed buildings and number 3 on my list of 10 Scheduled Ancient Monument's in Coventry that I hope to photograph.

As always the shot was taken with my iPhone 5. The photo was taken using the camera App Huemore for iPhone. The original image can be found here: Unedited original Image.

First of all I used the app Handy Photo to edit the image. The edits were made by cloning away the Lampposts from behind the Gate and the dustbin from in front of it. Next I used PhotoToaster to edit the image a little more. This was done by applying the Clarify filter, Vibrant FX, a medium white Vignette and the Antiqued texture to the image. I then used the App Distressed FX to add extra texture to the image using the Stirred overlay and the Cedar Texture. Finally I used the app Wood Camera to add the Birds to the picture using Frame number 14.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.