Lunching

What an unusual Monday. And what a good one. Mostly. 

I met my schoolfriend and his wife for lunch at the Hawes Inn in South Queensferry. It is easy for us to get to, but from different directions. 

It was a really good lunch, not just in terms of good company but also good food, good service and lovely location. 

I took the train to get there. I have not been on a train in this country for about 18 months. It worked well. I was relieved. 

I did not have much choice. I found a nail in one of my car's tyres this morning and although the pressure was fine, I was not going to drive it any further than the repair place. It is across the street from the railway station, and only a mile from the house. 

The Blip is the inn, obviously. The Extra is the view from the other side of the street. The slipway is where the car ferries arrived and left in the 1960s before the first road bridge was built. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.