The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Hoisting Zen

What is it that cause some of us to endlessly chase rainbows from one end of the Earth and back whilst others realize that their paradise is that which has always existed beneath their noses?

This is Mr. Wagner. Twenty years ago he threw in the corporate towel and decided that his mission in life would be to live the rest of his days on a beach. And he decided that his job description would be to hoist the flag over his dock each morning and to dutifully return it to its place of rest that evening at sunset. And after he hoisted his flag, he decided that each day he would look out over his Zen. And each time he does such it reaffirms his decision of twenty years ago. It was then that he vowed to have the time to manicure a perfect lawn and to build a garage to house his humble but iconic classic American cars. And he followed through on his promise to build a well-designed sun deck for his family where he continues to regale them with the stories of his youth and his time of service protecting this country. All of these remain his worthy pursuit, his American dreams realized.

Mr. Wagner found both ends of his rainbow, one at each end of his property.

It was our first weekend "up-north" at the lake this year and, as always, there was much clean up work to be done but there was still plenty of time for reflection. Every time I see this man soaking in the glory of this lake and the mysterious light of its spring mornings, I ask myself a few questions that I have never had the courage to answer.

The questions remain unanswered. I am back in the city tonight preparing for another endless rainbow chase in the morning.

It is ridiculously selfish and rude of me to leave my comments on despite that I am rarely here and, when I am, it is mostly to post an image and run on. This is a community of giving and receiving and, as of late, I have only received. I would much rather give without receiving but can't seem to find the time and energy to do such right now. Hence, comments off until I can return just a fraction of the blip-love. Thank you for all of your kind friendship even though I have not returned the same and my images have been wanting what I am capable of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.