The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Old World Charm

With his top hat, white gloves, red bow tie and his long-tailed velvet tux, Rick is one of two remaining formal doormen in the entirety of downtown Minneapolis. He greets guests entering and departing the Medical Arts Building in the center of the city with every ounce of kindness in his body.

I admit I am always taken back by the formality of it all and Rick's insistence on opening a large brass door for me whilst a perfectly functioning revolving door is just steps behind him. But for the many elderly patients who visit this building daily, I am sure this embracement of old world ways is comforting to them and partially offsets the tension that they may feel during medical visits.

The building is a museum to the art deco period of design and the building owner has not lost sight of soft touches that made that period one of the most glamorous, charming and elegant times of our past.

Today I did not enter for an appointment. Rather, I have come to love the food at the lunch concession on the main floor.

Another One Street image.

With all the amazing images posted here each and every day, I am floored and feeling all too lucky to learn that I won the Calumet photo of the week. I forced myself to leave my hotel room very late that night and was presented with an irresistible image that I believe honors anyone whom has ever fallen in love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.