Not every day

By ppatrick

Seated, standing, flying

That's a great way to do a memorial seat. No tiny plaque rusting illegibly - go large! Good for you Hillary, and those who remember you.

This was at Robin Hood's Stride, a well-named (although perhaps it really should have been Little John?) pair of gritstone outcrops two miles northwest of Winster. From there Raki and I walked down through Elton and back along the Limestone Way. As we passed south of Grey Tor I noticed a small but stylish murmuration. (I was not quick enough to photo it, unfortunately.) Starlings were settling in the trees sheltering the Tor, and then unsettling as they were repeatedly buzzed by a buzzard.

Grey Tor was the name of the lovely old stone house that my father and his second wife first moved to in the village when he retired in 1982. (Two years later the house was listed grade II.)  They 'downsized' to his present house in 1997, and sadly the new owners renamed the old one as 'West Bank House', a name change that seems silly and grandiose. If I were a buzzard I'd tell them to buzz off. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.