Not every day

By ppatrick

Banners, battles and bannocks (not really)

An action-packed day. Up and into town before 8 (on a Sunday!) to supervise the erection of a banner on the outside of our community theatre, a pet project of mine. Now when people pass along the street they can see not just the magnificent mural but a clear indication of what goes on in the building! (In English on one side, Cymraeg on the other. See extra #1 for a closeup.)

Then home to eat breakfast (thanks for the eggs, ceridwen), pack and head off on the long drive to my father's in the Peak District. This time I took Raki our dog. Looking for an exercise (etc) break en route, just past Stafford I noticed a sign pointing to 'Hopton Heath - Battlefield and Memorial'. I pulled onto the verge and we walked some way along a footpath to find the stone, enclosed appropriately enough in the perimeter fence of a large MoD base. (See extra #2 for an unimpeded view.) As I guessed, it was a Civil War battle - there's an interesting talk about it here. (I confess I didn't listen to the whole account of the battle, but the last few minutes are certainly worth catching.)

I finally reached my father around 6pm. He was pleased to see me, and to sample a homemade Welsh cake (extra #3). I'll be here for the week, trying to sort out his house as well as spending time with him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.