Adam's Images

By ajt

Death

This was a pear tree, it was in our garden when we bought the house. The first year we had plenty of pears from it and I made very nice jam from it. The second year we had a few pears from it and thereafter it went downhill pretty fast. It's been dead for about a year, but this week it fell over... It had fire blight, which is an aggressive bacterial disease which attacks apple and pear trees, and is usually fatal. We won't be able to plant any related trees in that spot now.

After the morning dog walk I upgraded my last Debian Linux system from version 10 to 11. I've been holding off because I hacked the email system and didn't want it to break when it was upgraded. In the end the email system worked perfectly, it was the name server that broke. So I spent several hours trying to fix that, only to give up and replace it with an alternative, but then the DHCP server failed, and I had to reconfigure that.

As this is a back blip I can announce that I fixed the DHCP server the following day, the previous config worked fine as-was, but for the alternative server I had to open up a port in the firewall - which was odd as one test tool said all was well, which is why I didn't change it to start with...

By the end of Sunday all was working fine, however sometime on Sunday night the router my ISP provide stopped working on IPv6, so now I've lost internet connectivity at home on IPv6 - the older IPv4 works, but I actually want IPv6, so I lost all of Monday trying to convince sfr.fr that there was a problem...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.