A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Singing The Blues

Please forgive yet another bluebird. This time it’s the Mrs • I came across this song today originally performed by Wings. I wasn’t familiar but I do like this lyric:

If the whole wide world stops singing
And all the stars go dark
I’ll keep a light on in my soul
Keep a bluebird in my heart

I needed a bluebird today. I’ve been following the news story about the four Americans kidnapped in Matamoros, México, last Friday. I’ve been there myself in the late 90s, and have crossed the US/México border many times in various locations during that time, but most often in Pharr because I worked in Reynosa, México, for three years • A lovely people and culture but looking back it isn’t an experience I would seek out again. Then, I was young and ambitious, but I’m retired now and know too much. The world has changed • When we moved from McAllen, Texas, the FBI was moving in to establish an office there because of all the drug activity. I’m happy to be living in rural Maine where it’s quiet and I can watch bluebirds from my windows :) • I’m hoping for a happy ending for those four Americans, but it’s unlikely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.