I made excellent use of my old-age bus pass today. Two minutes after its morning validity started I got onto a bus to go to the tile shop to buy some more trim. I then walked back to a different stop for the next leg of my journey. Last time I was trying to get 2m lengths of trim onto a bus the first driver told me my cargo was too dangerous to accept. I was very obsequious to the next driver and was allowed on. I was telling this to another woman waiting at the bus stop this morning and she clearly knew the bus drivers - as the bus stopped she told me this one would let me on and he did.

I delivered the trim to the tiler at my house then walked to a stop on a different route to get myself to Headington where I was meeting a friend.

Another bus back into town to buy new clothes for the uncle in his care home then on to another bus route to deliver them to him.

I've been encouraging him to become more mobile and as I was leaving I suggested he walk to the end of the first floor corridor to see me out. At the top of the stairs down to the lobby I asked whether he thought he could still manage stairs (two months ago he was running up and down four flights of stairs faster than I could). He accepted the challenge, perfectly successfully, but at the bottom of the stairs, right outside the manager's office, I got a gentle reprimand. Residents use lifts, not stairs. I really do understand their risk aversion but how will Uncle get his mobility back if he isn't allowed to exercise?

The photo is not the fake stone that my cheap tiles are made of but lovely huge chunks of real stone as part of Jesus College's new building in Cornmarket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.