I had no idea when I wrote yesterday's text that we have a Blipper, stellarossa, working in a team at the Ukrainian borders with Moldova, Romania and Poland.

She commented:
The border areas are awash with goods. Many organisations are begging people not to send any more stuff. There is nowhere to store it, it costs them to throw it away, they don’t have people to sort it and so many refugees are on the move and don’t want to be burdened with too many things to carry. It really doesn’t make sense to send things from the uk by land.

Where people do need things, buying in these countries will support their economies. One action I hope everyone could take us to push the UK government on its policy towards all refugees including Ukrainian.

Indeed. The evil Nationality and Borders Bill is almost law and the UK government has still made minimal plans to help people fleeing from Ukraine.

In my news, the training session I've been dreading for months is tomorrow so I spent most of today's blue sky indoors, preparing. I have never spent so much time on three hours of teaching but in the process I have learnt a fair amount about Zoom (which I hope never to use again). It's due to be sunny tomorrow until almost exactly the time I finish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.