Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Torch Lilies - Kniphofia uvaria

These lovely plants have been growing in our garden for years. I love them and every time they flower I think to myself "I must photograph them."
But alas, I procrastinate and the next thing they are past their best.
So this is their year. I have always referred to them as Redhot Pokers but they are certainly not red.
It was with some relief that I read today that they are also called "Torch Lilies". I will henceforth call them torch lilies but I suspect I will always, in my mind, think of them as "Yellow Redhot Pokers."... Old habits die hard.
Tomorrow morning I am heading off to Pine Valley again for some more Fungi Photography. I am taking my friend Dawn with me as she has recently started to take a serious interest in photography and is doing great work with her Panasonic Lumix camera. We hope the predicted wet weather will hold off for us until well into the afternoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.