CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A Last Supper, by Lorna May Wadsworth

I went to visit John W. at lunchtime to talk more about the visit to London in ten days, where we hope to get some technical advice. John explained in layman's language some more of the technical aspects to 3D stereoscopic imaging, which I am slowly coming to grips with. I blipped a picture of part of his camera rig a few days ago. John has just had some good news from a major company expressing interest in his designs, which is very exciting for him. He then showed me some of his 3D stereo images using his techniques, and said I was now the second person in the world to have ever seen images like it! I feel most privileged, and they were amazing!

Woodpeckers and I then went to St George's Church in Nailsworth to hear a a performance by Bristol's Gasworks Choir as part of the week long Nailsworth Festival. We went to see them three years ago at the same venue so new what to expect. Our great friend Pip has sung with the choir for many years and through him we have met several of the other singers, of whom about thirty were performing. I got permission from the organisers to take pictures and the choir were also keen to have some for both personal and publicity purposes.

For the first set we sat in the centre of the church but I felt restricted, thinking I would disturb the enjoyment of all the others in the audience if I snapped away. But for the first few minutes the sunlight shone straight down onto the choir standing in front of the altar, which produced a beautiful strong light, but wasn't easy for me.

At the interval, Helena and I went up to the altar to have a close look at the wonderful and celebrated painting called 'A Last Supper', by Lorna May Wadsworth. The interesting story of how it came to be painted and exhibited here is told very well on the church's website. I have also put a picture of the choir singing in front of it here on my Blipfolio.

For the second set I moved to the side of the church and their performance was even more dynamic. Sadly the evening light had faded and the church became rather more gloomy, so my images suffered. But I learnt a bit more about low light imaging, and even tried using the video function to record one song, which Pip is keen to see and hear. Maybe there is a role for producing a clip to help them in promoting more gigs for the choir. They a do a lot of charity fund raising, particularly for WaterAid, for whom they performed at the Glastonbury festival a couple of times. Now I have to prepare the pictures to send to Pip and the other singers.

(The painting hangs on the wall beneath the east window, a few feet behind the altar. It was first exhibited, briefly, at St Martin in the Fields, in Trafalgar Square, London, before coming to its permanent home here.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.