Splendour in the grass

I had hoped the first council meeting of the year last night would be relatively short, but it wasn't. We achieved a lot though. But I didn't get to the second meeting of the evening until 9-30pm, and the local residents who are concerned about a specific issue were waiting for me. I hope I helped them understand how local community groups might be able to have an influence on issues that concern them, and how the council might be able to support and possibly help them. But there are sticky issues to be addressed. I shall wait for their next moves.

As a result I was home rather late and didn't manage to relax until quite late which then meant not getting to sleep till several hours of the next day had passed. I had to be back for my next meeting at the council by 10-30am, and several extra issues arose for me to discuss with the town clerk, and we didn't finish until after 1pm. I was elected as chair of the finance committee again last night as well as the head of an important working group. We agreed on a radical decision about how to progress a legal issue, which although it would appear to be a bit of a problem, i do feel we have chosen correctly. Time will tell, but at least we can commission some works to start as soon as possible without waiting any longer.

By the time I had met an old friend for a coffee and then spent a lot of money on grocery shopping, I came home in rather a tired state. I eventually wandered out to the garden with my camera, accepting the state of the overgrown grass and sundry weeds, particularly the cow parsley, and was joined by our black friend, Bomble. He was rather energetic and proceeded to climb onto the shed roof as well as nipping up tree trunks and chasing nebulous creatures in the long grass. It was after one such dive into the grass that I took this picture of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.