Living my dream

By Mima

Hurry up!

Our regular walk on friends’ property holds several delights for Bean at the moment.

Her first stop is an apple tree, beneath which the windfalls are just waiting for her to have a snack.

She then moves on to a nectarine tree where there are usually pieces of fruit abandoned on the ground by the voracious birds.

Finally she arrives at the orchard full of plum trees where she grazes under the branches for sweet ripe morsels.

So when I stop to take a photo before we’ve even reached the apple tree, there is a certain amount of impatience expressed by the Bean.

It has been up to 29C this afternoon, so our walk was a late one and I was reading much of the afternoon. “Doughnut Economics” by Kate Raworth.

I’m not sure why it’s taken me six years to stumble across this book. I am reassured that economists are seriously reviewing the conventions of the 20th Century, putting the capacity of the planet to support us as the priority, rather than wealth-accumulation. I wish they’d hurry up and make a difference though…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.