Living my dream

By Mima

Layers

I enjoy this view every day when I turn right out of the gate and head down towards the village. I like the layers of landscape disappearing towards the mountains.

It’s been a full-on day of both cooking and gardening. With the mandatory dog-walk at lunchtime.

I’m beginning the end of season clear up here and there, and today’s focus was the flower and herb beds. I’m less than half way through the job, but I got the overhanging plants cleared from the paths as a priority, and then tidied and weeded as far as I could reach from my kneeler on the path.

The chooks got heaps and heaps of weeds to rake through. I love that they will turn them into eggs.

In the kitchen one of the main tasks was to roast a pile of onions, garlic and tomatoes which I’ll mouli tomorrow and then turn into ketchup: one of life’s essentials Chez Mima.

I also mixed and proved a couple of sourdough loaves, ready to bake first thing tomorrow.

I do like tasks which take more than a day to complete. Perhaps that’s why I’m drawn to sourdough, and cheese-making.

Interestingly I am eating less cheese now I’ve started making my own: I savour it much more knowing that it takes weeks to produce.

The same can’t be said for sourdough bread: it’s irresistible!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.