Strange day

With a Sunday fixture out in Embrun (where?), I had a stark choice between accompanying Ottawacker Jr. to his game or settling down to watch Liverpool vs. Manchester United. I'm proud to say that I went out to Embrun (where?), where I watched Ottawacker Jr. captain his side and go down to a 2-1 defeat against Futero Academy. I promised myself I wouldn't use my cell phone and wouldn't know the result of the game before watching the recording on FuBo. Thank God I didn't.

Had I know the result, I would have missed one of the vital prerequisites for gloating: the build-up of tension. In a first half that was relatively even (and during which the visitors displayed laudable attempts at shithousery to stop the flow of the game) the tension built slowly. 1-0 to Liverpool was probably a fair reflection of the game. 

But then the second half happened, during which a collapse of momentous, devastating proportions took place. By the end, the visitors were reduced to flailing arms and hitting assistant referees. Their goalkeeper suffered a strained back from picking the ball out of his net. Seven-nil was generous, I think, given the second-half performance. But there you go, you take what you get.

At the end, I felt strangely subdued. If you'd have asked me what I wanted most out of the day, a good thrashing of the Mancs would have featured pretty highly on the list. But now it had happened - and it was a historic thrashing - I realized that there was basically no chance of it ever happening again. Last season I was really pissed off at us when we won 5-0 at Old Trafford - because we stopped playing and let them off the hook. A 5-0 win away is nothing to be sneezed at, but we could have really laid a generational marker. This time we did (lay a generational marker, that is), and I am sad because I don't think it will ever happen again. While it has never happened, you can look forward to the remote possibility of it happening... when it has happened, that's it, all hope of a repeat has essentially gone.

I know this makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. The only thing I can liken it to is the feeling you get as a child at the end of Christmas Day. It was great, but, you know. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.