TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

The end of an era

Bad night’s sleep, which I put down to eating too much the night before and, quite possibly, drinking too much. So have, in the spirit of self-improvement, launched myself headlong onto the wagon. About time too.
 
Lovely day, bright and sunny. Called my niece to wish her a happy birthday, then remembered it isn’t until tomorrow, so felt a little stupid. She’s decided to do an Open University course in history, with the objective of getting a degree in three years. Not sure if she has thought through how complicated it is – but she is smart and, provided she is driven, should do well. After that, I called Kathy in England.
 
Kathy is my aunt and now sole owner of the apartment in which I had been ensconced in Calahonda. She was all a-flutter as, having decided a while to sell it, she had asked the realtor to put it on the market. And she found a buyer in a matter of days. It means a lot to her really – she is leaving behind a lot of her shared history with my uncle (who died last year), not to mention her free place in the sun. In her heart, she’s not really convinced she is doing the right thing – even if she knows in her head that she is. All in all, a tough conversation to have. I don’t like Calahonda very much, but it was a very convenient and useful place to stay. Whenever I needed a haircut. It really is the end of an era. Never again shall I darken the doors of the execrable Pal’s bar or eat over-priced mussels at La Tabla Belga. I really will miss Fran and the gang at Chambao Beach though.
 
Lunch with David, been a while since I saw him. Lunch started off on a high, but then we started getting into more serious topics and realized we needed more time than a rushed dim sum lunch to do it in. Regaled him with the tale of the haircut – he said it was a good cut – “very 1980s”. Hmm. As he bought lunch and gave me a birthday present, I let him off.
 
Ottawacker Jr out again at football – the spring sessions have now started. Ker-ching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.