National Barbie Day

I bet you didn’t know that.

On this day in 1959 Barbie debuted at the American International Toy Fair in New York. 

Now, I was more of an Action Man, but I thought I should recognise this day, but giving you a blip of when Martin and I visited the Barbie exhibition in Montreal a few years back. Though not generally a fan on any sorts of dolls (we’ve seen Annabelle and Chucky), we visited the exhibition, firstly, as it was in the shopping centre we were visiting, and secondly, it was free.

What we saw wasn’t just an exhibition about dolls, but works of art. There were hundreds (and I mean hundreds) of Barbie and Ken’s dressed up as film stars, in National dress, royalty, etc. 

You go in to somethings expecting very little and come out having your mind blown … that was our visit to the Barbie Exhibition.

Anyone know Barbie’s real name? 

By the way, do you recognise the new Ken Doll? 

A little bit of frivolity does no harm. 

Have a good day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.