Snow day

Snow started early, and it's still falling heavily as I write now, at the end of the afternoon.
My plan for the day was to do my midday stewarding shift at the photographic society exhibition in Sheffield cathedral, and then to go on to pick Frieda up from preschool.
It was soon obvious that the preschool pick-up wouldn't work. We live on a steep hill, and it defeats most vehicles if there's much snow and/or ice.  I also knew that the bus services had been suspended in our neighbourhood - also because of the slippery hills. So, reluctantly, I texted Jack, who is working from home today, so that he could do it.
I did manage the stewarding shift though, walking into the city centre and then walking back home afterwards. Surprisingly, there were some intrepid visitors to the cathedral, though most of the city centre was very quiet.
When I walked back up in the early afternoon, all traffic noise gradually faded as I climbed the hill into Walkley, leaving just the soft whisper of the snowflakes and the muted crunch of footsteps.
And the lure of snowy phone photos was irresistible...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.